Type Directors Club Awards 2018 Scholarships to Young Designers

At its annual award ceremonies this week at Cooper Union, the Type Directors Club presented a series of scholarships to assist the next generation of type designers toward academic and artistic success in design programs across the United States and Canada.

Anna Skoczeń, a student at Kraków’s Jan Matejko Academy of Fine Arts in Poland, was awarded the prestigious Beatrice Warde Scholarship for type design, a $5,000 competitive scholarship awarded to a female undergraduate design student for tuition for her senior year.

Anna Skoczeń, a student at the Jan Matejko Academy of Fine Arts in Kraków, displays her Beatrice Warde Scholarship certificate, lettered by Manila’s Fozzy Castro-Dayrit.

Anna received the award at the public ceremony from Gwen Steele of Monotype and TDC executive director Carol Wahler. At the request of Dr. Shelley Greundler, one of the scholarship selection committee members, calligrapher Fozzy Castro-Davrit of Manila was commissioned to create the scholarship certificate.

The Beatrice Warde Scholarship panel, which reviewed over ninety applications from around the world, included Gail Anderson of Anderson Newton Design, Shelley Greundler of Type Camp, and Helena Lekka and Fiona Ross of Reading University in the United Kingdom.

The scholarship is co-sponsored by the Type Directors Club and Monotype. Beatrice Warde (1900–1969), the TDC’s first female member, believed in the merits of education and championed them throughout her professional career with the Monotype Corporation. Therefore, when Monotype and the TDC established this scholarship in 2014, it was named in her honor. The next scholarship application cycle will begin in March 2019.

TDC vice president Elizabeth Carey Smith congratulates Beatrice Warde Scholarship recipient Anna Skoczeń at TDC awards night in New York City at The Cooper Union.

Immediately following this presentation, TDC scholarship committee chairman Karl Heine presented scholarship certificates to six students selected by schools in the United States and Belgium:

  • Lea Cawthorne, Fashion Institute of Technology
  • Hua Chen, Pratt Institute
  • Eva Gabrielsen, The Cooper Union
  • Jiyeon Kim, School of Visual Arts
  • Nohemy Ramos, Art Center College of Design, Pasadena, California
  • Kenneth Vanoverbeke, PXL-MAD, School of Arts, Hasselt, Belgium
  • Yasemin Varlik, Parsons School of Design

Type Directors Club sends $1,000 directly to each school to be allocated for each recipient’s tuition expenses. In addition, Anna and the other students each receive a one-year student membership to the Type Directors Club.

Hua Chen of Pratt Institute holds her certificate of achievement at TDC awards night at The Cooper Union. Photo: Mélanie Duault

Jiyeon Kim, a student at School of Visual Arts, proudly displays her certificate of achievement. Photo: Mélanie Duault

TDC executive director Carol Wahler presents certificate of merit to 2018 TDC student scholarship recipient, Kenneth Vanoverbeke of PXL-MAD, School of Arts onstage at the 2018 ATypI conference in Antwerp. Photo by Alan Wahler