Type Directors Club Awards Scholarships to Next-Generation Type Designers

At its annual award ceremonies this week at Cooper Union, the Type Directors Club presented a series of scholarships to assist the next generation of type designers toward academic and artistic success in design programs across the United States and Canada. Watch the video of the entire awards ceremony here.

Tasnima Tanzim of the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD) was awarded the prestigious Beatrice Warde Scholarship, a $5,000 competitive scholarship awarded to a female undergraduate design student for tuition for her senior year.

Tasnima Tanzim of RISD holds her certificate written by Martina Flor, with Monotype’s Gwen Steele (left) and Carol Wahler of Type Directors Club (right). Photo: Rebecca Smeyne.

Tanzim received the award at the public ceremony from Gwen Steele of Monotype and TDC executive director Carol Wahler, who asked renowned calligrapher Martina Flor to create Tanzim’s scholarship certificate. Born in Jhenidah, Bangladesh, Tanzim moved to the United States when she was ten, studied at Manhattan’s High School of Art & Design, and is now pursuing a degree in graphic design at RISD.

Read Nadine Chahine’s interview with Tanzim and see examples of her work on Monotype’s website.

A committee chose Tanzim for this award from over sixty applicants from around the world.

The panel that reviewed applications included Gail Anderson of Anderson Newton Design, Gwen Steele and Nadine Chahine of Monotype, Shelley Greundler of Type Camp, TDC’s Carol Wahler, and Fiona Ross of Reading University in the United Kingdom. Tanzim’s work demonstrated exceptional talent, sophistication, and skill in the use of typography.

The scholarship is co-sponsored by the Type Directors Club and Monotype. Beatrice Warde (1900-1969), TDC’s first female member, believed in the merits of education and championed them throughout her professional career with the Monotype Corporation. Thus, when Monotype and the TDC established this scholarship in 2014, it was named in her honor. The next scholarship application cycle will begin in March 2018.

Immediately following this presentation, Karl Heine of creativeplacement, chairman of the TDC scholarship committee, presented $1,000 scholarships to students selected by seven schools in the United States and Canada:

• Michelle Dines from New York’s Fashion Institute of Technology (FIT)

FIT’s Michelle Dines with her Type Directors Club certificate of achievement. Photo: Rebecca Smeyne.

• Anna Feng of Parsons School of Design at The New School

• Zeynep Gunger of Pratt Institute

• Kohki Khori of School of Visual Arts (SVA)

Kohki Khori of New York’s SVA with his Type Directors Club scholarship certificate. Photo: Susan Bednarczyk.

• Kelsey Sugg of Detroit’s College of Creative Studies

Scholarship recipient Kelsey Sugg of Detroit’s College of Creative Studies proudly displays her certificate next to TDC Medal recipient Gerard Unger. Photo: Susan Bednarczyk.

• Alex Tomlinson of The Cooper Union School of Art

Alex Tomlinson of The Cooper Union School of Art holds his scholarship from The Type Directors Club. Photo: Rebecca Smeyne.

• Virginia Jamieson of Universite du Quebec a Montreal (UQAM)

With Carol Wahler at ATypI, Virginia Jamieson of UQAM displays her scholarship. Photo: © Norman Posselt/ ATypI.

Tanzim and the other scholarship recipients all receive a one-year student membership to the Type Directors Club.