The World’s Best Typography: 63rd Annual Competition Awards Ceremony

The World's Best Typography: 63rd Annual Competition Awards Ceremony from Type Directors Club on Vimeo.

Annual Awards: July 18, 2017 — Type Directors Club 63rd Annual Competition Awards Ceremony

The Type Directors Club held its annual awards in New York City at The Cooper Union’s Rose Auditorium in conjunction with the opening reception for The World’s Best Typography exhibition. This program, hosted by Debbie Millman, features highlights of the type design and communications design competitions by competition chairs Dan Rhatigan, Joe Newton, and Angela Voulangas. This video includes presentation of the student awards, the Best in Show award, presentation of student scholarships by Karl Heine, and presentation of the Beatrice Warde Scholarship by Monotype’s Gwen Steele. TDC director Carol Wahler delivers a moving tribute to Freeman “Jerry” Craw, and the program concludes with a short documentary about Dr. Gerard Unger by Strange Attractors Design and the presentation of the TDC Medal to Dr. Unger for his lifetime achievement in type design. The evening was sponsored by The Cooper Union, The Herb Lubalin Study Center, Monotype, Parsons The New School, and A2A Studio Solutions.