TDC Typeface Design Winners 2017

The jury selected fifteen typeface design winners were selected from over 250 entries from 38 countries. These typeface winners are included in the Annual of the Type Directors Club, Typography 38 and showcased in 8 exhibitions that are touring cities in the United States, Canada, China, Dominican Republic, England, France, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Poland, Russia, South Korea, Spain, Taiwan, Thailand, and Vietnam.

The Jury

  • Berton Hasebe
  • Brendán Murphy
  • Ksenya Samarskaya
  • Dr. Alice Savoie

Dan Rhatigan, Competition Chair

The Winners

  1. Salvaje

    • Designer: Cristian Vargas, Brooklyn, NY
    • Foundry: Typozon
    • Client: Type and Media, Royal Academy of Art, The Hague (NL)
    • Website:
  2. Lingering Fonts

    • Designer: Zhang Weimin, Shenzhen, China
    • Client: WESUN Culture Communication
    • Website:
  3. Nordvest

    • Designer: Nina Stössinger, Brooklyn
    • Foundry: Monokrom Type Foundry, Oslo, Norway
  4. Qandus

    • Designer: Kristyan Sarkis—Lebanon and Amsterdam, Laura Meseguer—Barcelona, Juan Luis Blanco—Zumaia, Spain
    • Foundry: TPTQ Arabic, Type-Ø-Tones
    • Language: Arabic, Latin, Tifinagh
    • Client: Khatt Foundation—Amsterdam
  5. Bely

  6. Sharp Grotesk

  7. Eva

  8. Pilot

  9. Graebenbach

  10. Lalezar

  11. Laica

    • Designer: Alessio D’Ellena, Rome
    • Client: TypeMedia Master Program at KABK Royal Academy of Arts, The Hague
    • Website:
  12. Rando

  13. Renault Carname

  14. Stratos 

  15. Qingyu Lishu

    • Designer: Han-yi Shaw, Redmond, Washington
    • Foundry: HYS Design
    • Language: Chinese